Log in

North American
Kant Society

North American
Kant Society

  • Home
  • Southern Study Group

Southern Study Group

  • 05 Mar 2010
  • 06 Mar 2010
  • TAMU
The Southern study group of the North American Kant Society announces a Call for Papers for an inaugural meeting, March 5-6, 2010, at Texas A&M University.  We are pleased to announce that Otfried Hoeffe of Eberhard Karls Universitaet Tuebingen will be the keynote speaker for the event.  In addition, Rudolf Makkreel of Emory University, Richard Velkley of Tulane University, and John Zammito of Rice University will be invited speakers for this meeting.

Presenters at the conference are invited to indicate their interest in having their paper considered for inclusion in the book series Rethinking Kant, published by Cambridge Scholars Publishers. Rethinking Kant is an anthology of papers presented at the annual Eastern, Southern, Midwest, and Pacific Study Groups of the North American Kant Society. Including work of philosophers at all levels of their professional development, ranging from doctoral students to well-established scholars, Rethinking Kant aims to offer a glimpse at the current state of Kant scholarship.

The deadline for submissions is December 1, 2009.

Submission Requirements
The selection committee welcomes papers in all areas of Kantian scholarship. Reading time should be limited to 30 minutes and submissions are not to exceed 25 pages. Completed papers must be prepared for blind review, with contact information sent in a separate file. Graduate students should indicate their status in the body of their papers. Papers read at any of the other NAKS meetings may not be submitted.

Submission Instructions
Please send your submission, and any inquiries, to:
Kristi Sweet
Assistant Professor of Philosophy
Texas A&M University

Paper submissions are also welcome:
4237 TAMU
College Station, TX 77843

Please visit our website at snaks.tamu.edu for more information. This meeting is generously supported by the Glasscock Center for Humanities Research and the Texas A&M Philosophy Department.

 2009-2015 North American Kant Society. All Rights Reserved.
The "North American Kant Society" is a 501(3)(c) non-profit organization.