Log in

North American
Kant Society

North American
Kant Society

  • 22 Jun 2016
  • 25 Jun 2016
  • Minneapolis

HOPOS 2016

Dates: June 22-25, 2016

Place: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA


Submission deadline: January 4, 2016

Keynote Speakers:

Karine Chemla (REHSEIS, CNRS, Université Paris Diderot)

Thomas Uebel (Manchester)

The International Society for the History of Philosophy of Science (HOPOS) will hold its eleventh international congress in Minneapolis, on June 22-25, 2016.  The Society hereby requests proposals for papers and for symposia to be presented at the meeting.   HOPOS is devoted to promoting research on the history of the philosophy of science. We construe this subject broadly, to include topics in the history of related disciplines and in all historical periods, studied through diverse methodologies.  We aim to promote historical work in a variety of ways, but especially through encouraging exchange among scholars through meetings, publications, and electronic media. In order to encourage scholarly exchange across the temporal reach of HOPOS, the program committee especially encourages submissions that take up philosophical themes that cross time periods.   If you have inquiries about the conference or about the submission process, please write to Maarten van Dyck: maarten.vandyck@ugent.be.

To submit a proposal, please upload a PDF of your paper or symposium proposal to the following website:


Proposals for papers should be prepared for anonymous review. Proposals should include:

  • Title and abstract of the paper (maximum 500 words).

Proposals for symposia should be prepared for anonymous review. Proposals should include:

  • Title of the symposium.
  • Symposium summary statement (max. 500 words).
  • Titles and abstracts of the papers (maximum 500 words for each paper).

A symposium should consist of 3 or 4 papers.

Program Committee:

Maarten van Dyck (Ghent), "Kant and Before" (chair)

Karen Detlefsen (Pennsylvania)

Andrea Falcon (Concordia)

Sophie Roux (École Normale Supérieure, Paris)

Marius Stan (Boston College)

Lydia Patton (Virginia Tech), "After Kant" (chair)

Janet Folina (Macalester College)

Greg Frost-Arnold (Hobart and William Smith Colleges)

Matthias Neuber (Tübingen)

Jonathan Tsou (Iowa State)

 2009-2015 North American Kant Society. All Rights Reserved.
The "North American Kant Society" is a 501(3)(c) non-profit organization.