Log in

North American
Kant Society

North American
Kant Society

  • Home
  • Calls for Submissions

Calls for Submissions

Please find calls for Applications/Abstracts/Papers/Submissions below:

  • 20 Dec 2018 12:04 AM | Anonymous member (Administrator)

    The North American Kant Society is pleased to announce the ninth  annual Wilfrid Sellars Essay Prize competition. This prize will be awarded for the best essay on any topic that demonstrates the continuing relevance of Kant’s philosophy. Essays must be single-authored, previously unpublished (work under review or forthcoming will be considered), and cannot exceed 8,000 words in length (including notes and works cited/bibliography).


    The intention behind the Sellars Prize is to help promote original Kantian or Kant-inspired philosophical work of scholars in the early stages of their careers. Submissions will be blind-reviewed and judged by members of a review committee drawn from the NAKS Executive and Advisory Boards. The deadline for submitting is January 15, 2019.


    Eligibility rules:

    ·         The essay must be written in English, single-authored, and not published prior to January 15, 2019.

    ·         “Junior” is defined here as: “PhD in hand; and 40 or younger (regardless of tenure status), or non-tenured (regardless of age).”

    ·         Authors must be members of NAKS at the time of submission.


    Please send entries electronically to Oliver Sensen at sensen@tulane.edu. Entries should be submitted in Word format and state the word count at the end. They should be formatted for blind review. Submissions must be accompanied by a cover letter providing the author’s name, email contact information, and title of the paper, and including a three-part declaration stating that: (i) the essay has not been published by January 15, 2019, (ii) the author already has a PhD in hand, and is either 40 years of age or younger (regardless of employment status) or non-tenured (regardless of age), and (iii) the author is a member of NAKS in good standing.


    The winner will be announced on June 15, 2019 and will receive a prize of $500. The Award Committee reserves the right not to award a prize, if in its judgment none is warranted.
  • 20 Dec 2018 12:01 AM | Anonymous member (Administrator)

    Submission deadline: December 31, 2018 (for books published January 1 to December 31, 2018)

    NAKS is pleased to anounce the sixth Book Prize for Senior Scholars competition. This prize will be awarded for an outstanding book dealing with any aspect of Kant’s philosophy. Submissions will be judged by a panel consisting of members drawn from the NAKS Advisory Board, and the winner will receive a prize of $500. The Awards Committee reserves the right not to award a prize, if in its judgment none is warranted. 

    Eligibility rules:

    ·      Only single-authored monographs or collections of essays written in English will be considered.

    ·      Authors must be members of NAKS at the time of submission.

    ·      Submission must be made by the publisher, and four (4) copies of the book must be submitted to NAKS. Submissions should be sent to: Prof. Rachel Zuckert, Northwestern University, Department of Philosophy, Kresge 3-512, 1880 Campus Drive, Evanston, IL 60208.

    ·      “Senior” is defined here as: “40 or older (regardless of tenure status), or tenured (regardless of age).”

    ·   Current NAKS Executive and/or Advisory Board Members are not eligible to compete for the prize.

Upcoming events

  • No upcoming events.

Calls for Submissions

  • No upcoming deadlines.

 2009-2015 North American Kant Society. All Rights Reserved.
The "North American Kant Society" is a 501(3)(c) non-profit organization. 2809 Kenyon Circle, Boulder, CO 80305.